For Tanya and Randy

Why say that life is just a bowl of cherries, when in BiH, it’s a platter?

This post is the first of many, for Tanya & Randy, as you’d both put in a special request for FOOD posts. We’ll see if I can get any recipes.

The below is some kinda meat, breaded and fried, and rice. Doesn’t sound so good, but tasted very good.

And this is one of the national dishes, Cevapi (pronounced “che-vapi”) and a bottle of mineral water, although the flat is just fine. Cevapi is meat, sometimes with lamb, sausages, with onions in a really delicious warm pita. I had a cevapi in pigeon square today. And it definitely wasn’t birdmeat — was a very good, mildly spicy ground beef.

~ by mimi on June 18, 2008.

7 Responses to “For Tanya and Randy”

  1. So did ya make cherry aid.

  2. OK, so what IS charry aid?? cherry vodka?

  3. Why am I reminded of Thayer Street? Yummy food is always a good compass wherever you are, Marianca! Now you just need to spend your last Euro on fresh flowers for your hotel room!
    Love the blogs … you are, as always, so insightful and entertaining! Love, Lizzy

  4. Cherry Aid is a Lindaism (thought you might miss em)… as mom says whatever will work to get her to eat/ drink her fruits. Too bad vegies and vodka don’t go as well

  5. Looks yummy!! Thanks for the post and the future posts as well….There is a partial power outage as I write this, but I’m supposed to go out for some birthday drinks at any rate. With temps in the upper 90’s, summer is definitely here in LA. Hopefully the weather wher you are is nicer. Miss you lots!

  6. I am reading you blog!! You are far away. I have nothing witty to say at the moment….more to come. Yay!

  7. Great foods up there!

    I am creating a recipes blog where there will be recipes translated on English as well! 🙂
    I figured a lot of people wanted recipes but there weren’t that many resources. I just started out so not many recipes, so far Burek recipe is available. But I plan on adding one recipe with English translation daily.
    BTW, Burek is a meat pie! 🙂

Leave a comment